^Back To Top

The Eightfold Path

1. Right Action, which refrains from taking life, from stealing, and from immoral behaviour in general.
2. Right Speech, which is free of lying, slander, harmful and useless speech.
3. Right Thought, which free of desire, ill-will and cruelty.
4. Right Living, which means that we make our living without killing or harming, and by just and honourable means.
5. Right Effort, which commits wholeheartedly to:
  • Avoid generating negative thoughts
  • Put an end to negative thoughts once they have arisen
  • Cultivate meritorious qualities and the conditions for Awakening
  • Maintain these meritorious qualities and the conditions for Awakening.
6. Right Mindfulness, which engages the mind in: 
  • contemplation of the body
  • contemplation of the feelings
  • contemplation of the mind
  • contemplation of the five obstacles:
    • sensual desire
    • ill-will or anger
    • physical or mental torpor and laziness
    • sceptical doubt
    •  fear and worry, or mental excitement
7. Right Concentration, where the mind rests without distraction on a single object for as long as one wishes
8. Right Views, which is the perfect understanding of the Four Noble Truths.


Words of Wisdom

"Realize that the nature of your mind is different from that of the flesh and bone of your physical body. Your mind is like a mirror, reflecting everything without discrimination. If you have understanding-wisdom, you can control the kind of reflection that you allow into the mirror of your mind."
- Lama Yeshe

Upcoming events

Copyright 2022  Buddhist Congregation Dharmaling