^Back To Top

Eight worldly dharmas

Search for glossary terms (regular expression allowed)
Begin with Contains Exact termSounds like
All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Term Definition
Eight worldly dharmas
skt.: ashtau lokadharmah; tib.: jig ten gyi cho gye) Sometimes translated as eight worldly concerns or eight worldly thoughts. These concenrs are lower motivations that interfere with our practice of Dharma. There are four pairs:
1. (skt.: labha; tib.: nyed pa) (desire for) gain and 2. (skt.: alabha; tib.: ma nyed pa) (fear of) loss:
3. (skt.: sukha; tib.: de wa) (desire for) pleasure/happiness/comfort and 4. (skt.: dukkha; tib.: dug ngel) (fear of) pain/unhappiness/suffering
5. (skt.: ayashas; tib.: nyen drag) (desire for) fame and 6. (skt.: yashas; tib.: ma drag) (fear of) notoriety/disgrace:
7. (skt.: prashamsa; tib.: tu pa) (desire for) praise/approval and 8. (skt.: ninda; tib.: me pa) (fear of) blame/criticism/disapproval
As Pabongka Rinpoche quoted Geshe Potowa and Dromtonpa:
Geshe Potowa asked Dromtonpa: What is the fine dividing line between Dharma and non-Dharma?
Drom replied: It is Dharma if it becomes an antidote to delusions; it is not Dharma if it does not. If all worldly people do not agree with it, it is Dharma; if they do, it is not Dharma. The point is that Dharma and worldly things are opposites.


Words of Wisdom

"You don't need to obsess over the attainment of future realizations. As long as you act in the present with as much understanding as you possibly can, you'll realize everlasting peace in no time at all."
- Lama Zopa Rinpoche

Copyright 2020  Buddhist Congregation Dharmaling